PDA

View Full Version : Meditation

Esme
20th May 2017, 17:00
I enjoy meditating, although I'm fairly new at it and feel I am still learning, as yet I haven't cracked this state of 'bliss' that so many talk of. When I speak to people I often get told 'I can't meditate, my mind is too active', so I thought as a newbie to this site I would share what I know...

Everyone has an active mind, the skill is to recognise when your mind wonders off and then re-focus on your breathing to clear your mind. Each and every time your mind gets active again, re-focus and carry on. This is the art to it, eventually, the interruptions become less and you retrain your brain.

When you get it right, you can do a 10-20 minute meditation and it is like having a 3 hour power nap, you feel energised and focused.

Kitkat
21st May 2017, 07:12
It seems the trend now-a-days, which basically means the celebs have caught onto a ancient tradition of meditating and think they've invented it.:doh

I have given this a go, and would love to get into a bit more. Generally, I seem to spend my time fighting the chit chat in my head. But, I do recall an occasion when I was sitting on my deck chair, the sun beating down on me, the birds tweeting and I decided to give it a go...wow! I managed to do about 10 minutes, I couldn't believe it, I expected to open my eyes all groggy, but quite opposite occurred. I felt inner vitality, as though I had had the most resorartive sleep ever.

sophie
21st May 2017, 11:51
So what does actually happen? Taking into account you are above to clear the chit chat, what then?

Esme
21st May 2017, 17:38
So what does actually happen? Taking into account you are above to clear the chit chat, what then?

Well, once you stop the chit chat you become more aware of your body, you notice how relaxed you are, and you keep focusing on your breath in and out. Your body becomes more and more relaxed and you start to drift off into nothingness.